MathSciNet ® | Google Scholar | Science Direct

Mathematician of Today

Recent news

[2012. 8. 14] ILAS 1900 Endowed Professorship to Tin-Yau Tam

I am delighted to report that Tin-Yau Tam of Auburn University has been selected as the 

Lloyd and Sandra Nix Endowed Professor at Auburn University. 

Tin-Yau is also the new Chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Auburn.


[2012. 8. 14] ILAS 1899 6th de Brún Workshop

Dear All,

We are pleased to announce the 6th de Brún Workshop: Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory: connections, applications and computations to be held at NUI Galway, 3-7 December, 2012.

The aim of the workshop is to bring together mathematicians with interests in various aspects of linear algebra and matrix theory, and their connections with other areas of pure and applied research.

The workshop will include five short lecture courses given by
Richard Brualdi (Wisconsin)

Peter Brooksbank (Bucknell)

Carlos Martins da Fonseca (Coimbra)
Iain Duff (RAL and CERFACS) and
Charles Johnson (William & Mary).

There will also be a programme of contributed 30 minute research presentations. Graduate students are particularly encouraged to attend and participate. This workshop will be hosted by the de Brún Centre at NUI Galway, and is supported by Science Foundation Ireland.

The deadline for registration is November 1. Registration is free. Travel, food and accommodation are at the expense of participants. The de Brún Centre may be able to fund accommodation for some graduate students.

For more details, please see

The workshop will be followed on Dec 8th by the inaugural Irish Meeting for Linear Algebra Research.

Graham Ellis
Steve Kirkland
Tom Laffey
Niall Madden (local organiser)
Rachel Quinlan (local organiser)
Helena Smigoc


[2012. 8. 3] ILAS 1898 ILAS-Net Changes

In June, the software to manage the ILAS-Net mailing list was changed from majordomo to mailman. There have been some bugs in subscribing to and unsubscribing from the email list. These have been worked out. 

The webpage on ILAS-IC has been updated to reflect the changes. 


Individuals can now manage their membership in the ILAS-Net list directly 
by using the site: 

A password will be automatically assigned to you. You can access this password by selecting the Password Reminder button on this page. 

Submissions to ILAS-Net: 

Please send an email with a text message to me at:

If the message acceptable, it will be sent out on ILAS-Net. 


If you have any concerns with ILAS-Net, please contact me at: 

Thank you for your patience with these changes. 

Yours sincerely, 
Sarah Carnochan Naqvi 
ILAS-Net Manager 


* IMAGE - ILAS' Bulletin
* Electronic Journal of Linear Algebra
* Elsevier

Last News

ILAS Educational

Steve Leon (Chair)
Luz De Alba
Guershon Harel
David Lay
Sang-Gu Lee

ILAS Executive

* President
Stephen Kirkland
* Vice-President
Chi-Kwong Li
* Secretary/Treasurer
Leslie Hogben

Useful Links


ILAS Edu Homepage
(Previous version)

1st Edition: 2002.12.17
2nd Edition: 2007.6.1